Wednesday, January 1, 2020

new year, same me, new focus

Well friends

It's here; 2020. Wow. How is it already a new year?

It seems like 2019 has come and gone faster than any other year. It's been a year for sure. A weird, odd, interesting, new and exciting year.

2019 looked so hopeful in the beginning. I was over halfway through my certified personal trainer certification course and slowly starting to get read to take me test. I was teaching a class at a gym. I was looking forward to what the year held.

Then BAM, car problems. It probably sounds petty but for someone who loves road trips and random car rides it sucked. The problems kept me from getting to the gym and I was having to bum car rides. Embarrassing and it sucked. I was so pumped for how the yer was going to go, but then this happened I dealt with car issues for a good month and a half. I never thought car problems would cause this much trouble; let alone my daily/weekly gym visits were going to take a halt. I go to the gym 4-5 days a week on a normal week, so only being able to go 1-2 times a week; if that, was crazy for me.

These two and a half months I lost strength and some muscle, but I also lost weight. I wasn't able to go anywhere but to and from work and church if my car was working. I didn't think it could get any worse.

When I finally got my car working in February I was ready to go back to the gym. Getting back into the gym after spotty gym visits had me ready to go. I continued to study for my CPT exam and was teaching my class until the gym decided that I wasn't doing a good enough job so they replaced me. Talk about another blow. That sucked, but I understood why they decided to go with someone else. I still continued to go to the gym because I needed that time. It was a great way to keep my mind busy and a great way to de-stress after work. I had other personal issues that came along the way so the gym helped me to clear my head.

While the following months seemed hopeful I felt my motivation slipping. I took my CPT test in April but sadly I failed by THREE. Three points, talk about a disappointment. I went into the test hopeful, but in the back of my mind I was scared I was going to fail. I studied and I studied hard. I was really looking forward to it. It made me question if I could actually be a personal trainer. The motivation was there, I had people cheering me on and still continued to keep my chin up.

Throughout the year I could feel my motivation slipping but I still wanted to be committed to the fitness life. It felt hard. If it wasn't one thing; it was another.

Finally at the end of the summer  I felt like I was really ready to get myself back into shape but then I got a job promotion. I'm definitely NOT mad about being promoted at my job, because I love my job and look forward to the opportunities that have and are coming my way! With my job promotion I had to start commuting 45-60 minutes 5 days a week to a different store to train for my new position (I work for Starbucks; if you didn't know). Driving almost an hour to and from and working 8+ hours of work really drained me physically. My eight hour work day turned into 10-12 hours depending on the day. Really draining. So my gym time was very limited. My time at home was spent eating UNHEALTHY dinners and sleeping. I was so exhausted all the time. The few times I got to go to the gym felt almost useless. For someone who went to the gym 4-5 times a week to literally go down to 32 times in 90 days..... that averaged to about 3 times a week; if I was lucky.

After my THIRTEEN week training (that could've lasted half that time in all honesty)  I was so excited to come back to my home store and get back into the gym. Little did I know that November and December the motivation was non existent.  I really thought I was going to make it happen. I dealt with being under the weather and getting used to being back at my home store. Plus the hours I was scheduled were all over the chart.

I promised myself that "next year I will do better" It's sad that I was mad at myself for having that "next year will be my year" attitude. I don't like that. I have come too far to feel that way. I worked hard, I've inspired myself and others to fight hard. To be a better version of myself and continue to inspire others.

So what did I decide to do?

This last week of 2019/first week of 2020 I decided that I needed to do better and be better. How can I transition from the unmotivated individual to the overly motivated individual I have been in previous years? Simple get up, get in the gym and QUIT making excuses. Sure I will have down days or weeks. I might not be in the best mood or feel that best but that doesn't mean that I can't at least make an effort. I was only making excuses and not making progress. I gained 15 pounds and yo-yo'ed back and forth ALL year. I; thankfully, ended the year only six pounds heavier than when 2019 started but that doesn't account for the weight I gained, fat creeping back in  and the muscle mass I lost as well as strength.

In December I decided I wanted to check out the Planet Fitness that opened in town; solely out of curiosity. I had heard so many things; judgement for a "judgement free zone", jokes about pizza being served, etc. I couldn't believe the pizza thing was for real, but really does it matter? To me it doesn't. I don't go to the gym for pizza, coffee or tootsie rolls. I do to work all those things off. Although pizza is pretty much going away for the year. I really like the PF here in town. It's big enough you don't feel like there are a lot of people in there. No one there is showing off, they are simply there to be better versions on themselves. I love it.

So how does that fit into me, fit into my motivation and revamped attitude about fitness and my purpose? How does this identify with my "LIFE IN TRANSFORMATION" mantra. I wanted to be a life in transformation, an example to others that if I can do it, than anyone can. Life in transformation is not only my "brand" or my mantra but it's who you can be.

I set myself goals/resolutions this year that I can obtain. I heard a radio personality talk about making "mini goals" which I thought was a great idea. It's easy to say "I'm going to lose 30 pounds this year" and then at the end of the year you've gained 10 pounds you get mad and try again all over. When you set mini goals that seem a lot more attainable and you achieve them you can revamp your goals throughout the year.

I plan on losing 15-20 pounds this year but when you break it down its a little over 2 pounds a month, totally doable. I want to train for a half marathon, seems hard but that means I have 12 months to really get myself to where I can run 13.1 miles. Right now I can't run more than 5 minutes without feeling winded so I have my work cut out for me. I want to do a tough mudder or a spartan race. I've done a similar local one a couple of times that I will do again, but I'm going to beat my time.

I also plan on retaking my CPT certification exam and passing, even if it takes 2-3 times. I refuse to fail. I want to make it happen this year. I stay very busy with my job and life but really that's just another excuse. I want to help others be better versions of themselves. I also need the motivation to be better myself.

This year in my FITNESS career/life I'm choosing the word FOCUS

It's 2020....

time for 20/20 vision when it comes to focus (get it 2020... 20/20)

I'm not getting younger but that doesn't mean that I can't be better and do better.

So let's do this!!!

Who's in?! 

No comments:

Post a Comment